SONG REVIEW: Tom Joshua – Knock On A Hollow

So where will I be taken to this time?  These writing journeys discovering new music have led to a perfect score – so far I have enjoyed every song that I have reviewed.

Will Tom Joshua’s new release *Knock On A Hollow* continue my unbroken I’m-loving-it streak?  

Let’s start with the beginning – that’s a catchy little intro with a percussive beat leading into the guitar rhythm playing off the drum rhythm with its own percussive off beat groove.  And I hear his respectful nod to Police, one of his influences.

Oh!  And now the voice comes in – great vocals.  The harmonies are so subtle that I didn’t notice them the first time through because Joshua’s voice is so compelling, I just focussed on him.  And by the 4th time through when I do focus on the harmonies, I find they surround his vocals perfectly leaving him in that sweet pocket of sound we all strive for in our recordings.

Those of you who have read my other reviews, know that lyrics are key for me.  I couldn’t find any lyrics to *Knock On A Hollow* online and to be honest, I couldn’t make out all of what he was saying no matter how many times I listened.

But in the end, it really didn’t matter because I really like the song, love the vocals and the arrangements so my winning streak is still intact. 

Now, as I said, I couldn’t find any lyrics to try to figure out what *Knock On A Hollow* means.  Being from Canada, I thought maybe it was a British reference or colloquialism?

Then I found a great interview in Narc Magazine where Joshua explains “Knock On A Hollow is simply about someone playing drums in a flat above the parade of shops near me’….and the benefits of banging on stuff like drums, guitars or other things that are hollow.”

“Do you knock on a hollow oh oh oh….” I managed to catch that line but by the time I did, the solo guitar plays out its last few bars and it’s over.

You know a song is good when it’s over too soon so you have to play it again as soon as it’s finished.

I read that his “2017 debut single ‘Meteor Showers’ garnered over a million Spotify streams”.

Won’t surprise me if this one does too.  Have a listen.

WEBSITE: tomjoshua.com

FACEBOOK @tomjoshuamusic

https://www.facebook.com/tomjoshuamusic/

DOWNLOADABLE ASSETS

http://stayloose.co.uk/

Published by Jeanette Arsenault

Jeanette Arsenault is a singer/songwriter/recording & performing artist/mentor/coach who is now pursuing her new passion for music journalism. She is also currently preparing the foundation for her new business to provide support, consulting and resources to musicians. www.JeanetteArsenault.ca

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started