Song Review: The Deep Shining Sea – Girl There Is Something You Should Know

Who is looking at whom?  Great opening shot in the new video by The Deep Shining Sea for their single release *Girl There’s Something You Should Know*.  Tables turned.  Here’s looking at you looking at me.

It’s not just about the music anymore – it’s about the look.  It’s about the elements working together in synch to get your message out.  Not only to catch the listener’s ear but catch their eye as well.  

Used to be you had 30 seconds to impress.  Now it’s more like less than a second.  Seems our attention span is that of a gnat anymore.  

Used to be that you had to have a strong intro & a strong extro.  The audience will give you a pass on the middle but not how you get into or out of a song.

Well that formula is still relevant – get them in fast, hold their attention, then when it’s over, hook ‘em in again.  

“Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose” as the French say.  The more things change, the more things stay the same.  Music Universalism (did I just invent that?).  The science of song structures stay the same since songs started.  Alliteration tools haven’t changed either.

Well…. The Deep Shining Sea….oh no….hold me back…..hooked me in hook, line & sinker.  Groan I know.  Couldn’t resist.

They are only 3 musicians but their sound is BIG and round and full.  The vocals are listenable and I am loving the guitar. All fine musicians who work well together – and I enjoyed them having fun with the camera. Shows personality – fans want that!

The song makes it clear that sometimes opposites do NOT attract: 

“You feel love when I feel pain/When I’m crazy you feel sane …

In this darkness you’ve got light/I see truth when you tell lies …

I’m done with this/Your poison kiss …

It’s not love … / It’s the end”

At the same time as I am listening to the lyrics, I’m trying to figure out what is it that I’m looking at? Musicians in an empty room in a house as seen through …. a fish eye lens?  That keeps me curious & engaged.   And even though my eyes and my mind are soaking it all in, it’s the song is what keeps me focussed.

How apropos that the ending is a traditional videographer’s need to box in the image!

Isn’t that the true test of a good song – you can entertain my eyes but can you engage my ears?  I won’t always be at my computer viewing videos – I’ll be driving or walking with my earbuds in. 

Will I include *Girl  There Is Something You Should Know” on my playlist?  You bet I will.

www.thedeepshiningsea.co.uk 

www.facebook.com/thedeepshiningsea 

www.instagram.com/thedeepshiningsea

www.twitter.com/thedeepshining

Published by Jeanette Arsenault

Jeanette Arsenault is a singer/songwriter/recording & performing artist/mentor/coach who is now pursuing her new passion for music journalism. She is also currently preparing the foundation for her new business to provide support, consulting and resources to musicians. www.JeanetteArsenault.ca

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started